Meet Your Council

Northumberland County Council is comprised of the mayors of each of the seven towns, townships or local municipalities within its boundaries. The head of County Council is called the Warden and is elected annually from amongst its membership.

County Council meets once a month with some exceptions. Open Session of County Council commences at 9:30 a.m. As much as possible, business is conducted in "Open Session" with the exception of matters pertaining to specific individuals, litigation or potential litigation, personnel matters or the receiving of legal advice.

For County Council agendas, minutes and by-laws, visit our Council page.

County councillors

2024 Northumberland County Warden, Brian Ostrander

Mayor of the Municipality of Brighton

Deputy Warden Brian OstranderSince 1992, Brian has worked in the printing and publishing business, building business relationships and working to find new opportunities for business development in an industry that is in flux.

Brian was first elected to Brighton Council in 2003. This is his second term as Mayor and County Councillor. Brian works to build consensus and drive partnerships throughout Northumberland County and in the Quinte region. 

Brian's wife, Tammy, is a local educator and they have two daughters, Kaitlyn and Megan.

Send a message to Warden Ostrander

2024 Northumberland County Deputy Warden, Olena Hankivsky

Mayor of the Municipality of Port Hope

Olena HankivskyOlena Hankivsky, PhD is trained as a political scientist. She has over 25 years of experience working across academic, government, NGO and international organizations, including the World Health Organization and the United Nations.

She is a professor at the School of Public Policy, Simon Fraser University (currently on political leave), and has been a visiting professor at the Graduate Institute, Geneva, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine in the UK and Columbia University in the US.

She has been an invited speaker to a wide range of audiences in more than 30 countries across the world. She is also the author of seven books and is recognized for her work addressing issues of inclusion, diversity and equity in social and health policy.

Send a message to Deputy Warden Hankivsky

John Logel

Mayor of the Township of Alnwick/Haldimand

John Logel

John was raised on a family farm in Haldimand Township. After completing his education at Sanford Fleming College, he joined Goodyear Canada in Industrial Engineering. During his 30-year career, he managed several departments in Owen Sound and Bowmanville. John has been actively involved in not-for-profit organizations and volunteered in minor sports, Junior Achievement, hospital foundations, Rent-Geared-to-Income facilities and numerous activities at his church.

John entered municipal politics in 2010 as a Councillor for Ward 1 and became Mayor in 2014. As a member of County Council from 2014-2020, John was a representative for Public Works, Paramedics, Community and Social Services, the County Forest and the Halliburton Kawartha Pine Ridge (HKPR) health unit.

John, his wife Brenda, their two children and five grandchildren all live in Grafton.

Send a message to Councillor Logel

Lucas Cleveland

Mayor of the Town of Cobourg

Lucas ClevelandLucas moved to Cobourg six years ago in search of a community to call home. He built and operated a first-of-its-kind 'zero food waste' greengrocer in the downtown area. Following three years of exponential growth, he set a goal to serve the community in a new capacity. 

Lucas holds a Bachelor of Arts and a double major in Political Science and Philosophy. His prior business experience includes creating a restaurant consulting business to reduce waste and realize operational efficiencies, enabling restaurants to meet their strategic goals. Lucas also spent over 10 years in the oil and gas industry, working in a senior position with Weatherford International, where he led teams implementing and executing multi-million-dollar drilling operation sites. Lucas brings this business experience to municipal government with the aim to make Northumberland a better place to work, live and play.

Send a message to Councillor Cleveland

Mandy Martin

Mayor of the Township of Cramahe

Warden Mandy MartinMandy Martin was raised primarily in Gore’s Landing on the south shore of Rice Lake, and now resides in Colborne. She has a B.A. from Queen’s University in history and psychology, and over 40 years of experience as a communications, journalist and marketing professional. She began her journalism career with Northumberland Publishers, based in Cobourg. She taught photography and worked with an international aid agency in Central America. For three and a half years, she was an international travel and business writer/editor with Southam Communications. Her corporate experience includes nine years with Ontario Hydro as a Communications Officer, Public Utilities Liaison and Retail Officer Supervisor.

Mandy's volunteer activities include a past role as Vice President of Northumberland United Way and board member of Northumberland Children’s Aid Society, Northumberland Big Sisters, Northumberland Community Futures Development Corporation, the Royal Canadian Legion Colborne and Decisions for the Great Lakes (Kingston).

Send a message to Councillor Martin

Scott Jibb

Mayor of the Township of Hamilton

Scott JibbCouncillor Scott Jibb is a fifth generation and lifetime resident of the Township of Hamilton. He brings over 35 years of municipal building and administrative experience to the table as well as eight years of political experience, having served as both Councillor and Deputy Mayor for the Township of Hamilton since 2014.

Scott is an active member of the Northumberland County Agricultural Community, farming over 600 acres for the cattle and cash-crop sector, and is a strong supporter of local heritage.

Scott is well known and respected for his views on financial responsibility, being open, honest and down-to-earth in his personal, professional, and political dealings, as well as his dedication to a common-sense approach to decision-making.

Send a message to Councillor Jibb

Bob Crate

Mayor of the Municipality of Trent Hills

Bob Crate

Bob is a lifelong resident of Hastings. He was elected as the Hastings Ward Councillor for the Municipality of Trent Hills in 2010 and served as Deputy Mayor from 2012 to 2017, at which time he was appointed Mayor of the Municipality. In 2018, he was elected to continue serving as Mayor and was re-elected in 2022. As a member of Northumberland County Council, Bob was elected by his peers to serve two terms as County Warden.

Bob is retired from the alcohol beverage industry, were he was employed for over 40 years. As the past President of Royal Canadian Legion Branch 106, he has received the Meritorious Service Medal and a Life Membership in recognition of his service to the organization.

Bob enjoys cycling, walking and was an avid hockey player for 60+ years. He enjoys travelling with his wife Judy and spending time with his children and grandchildren.

Send a message to Councillor Crate